Get it right! Top to bottom…proper sneaker guide!

Hello All!

Just wanted to talk about the importance of having the proper shoes for your workout routines! This is an area I only became educated in later in my exercise career and wish I had known more about earlier! Therefore today I’ll be touching on the shoes itself, how it should fit, different shoes for different activities, shoes brands I’ve tried, and places to get your shoes!

Ok! So wearing the right shoes is very important to your workout, and all shoes are NOT created equal!

You really should find out what type of arc height you have and if your foot has any pronation, inward or outward turning of the foot, in order to buy the right shoe for you! I’ll get to how you can find this information out a little later on..

Second, there really is a difference between a good running and cross training trail shoes. There’s plenty of other categories, but I’m sticking to these for now. Running shoes should be solely worn for running! Either on the treadmill, on the street, 5k’s, walks, elliptical, arc trainer, running shoes are for these activities. This is because the sole of running shoes has a lot more grip or “sticky” like quality to it because that’s what helps propel you along and grip the road. Running shoes should NOT be worn for exercise classes, spinning excluded!!! I learned the hard way by wearing my running shoes to kickboxing and after some time I’ve unfortunately felt the tork in my knees because I haven’t be able to pivot for certain moves as effectively. This is where your cross trainers come in. These shoes sole’s do not have as much grip and have an overall more smooth texture to them. They’re made for any class that you may take in the studio, kickboxing, total body conditioning, boot camps, zumba, ETC. They help you move more gracefully across the floor without excess sticking for no reason. Making the switch definitely helped me and has helped me on my knee’s recovery!

I’ve also paired my shoes with a custom fit insole which I had made at RoadRunner. They were on the more expensive side $70, but I was told they’re made to last about a year and overall are custom formed to fit MY foot, you just can’t get that from Dr. Scholl’s at the drugstore! I think insoles are great and can truly help anyone having issues with arch support and knee and lower back issues, but you need to go to people at knowledgeable facilities. 

Shoe brand’s that I’ve tried in the past specifically for the gym and running are Nike, Asics, and more recently Mizuno. I’m not a fan of Nike running shoes, I never felt like they had much support. I LOVE Asics, there are so many different model’s of the shoes and they do really last a long time, however, of course the styles I like and prefer from them run about $100-$120, the Kayano and Nimbus are awesome. Recently I just purchased a pair of Mizuno Wave Creation 13, which of course cost me the most coming in at $135ish, and I paired them with my custom insoles so yeah big expense there. BUT my knee, which has been hurting since November, has immediately felt the results of being in a proper shoe with proper support. 

Therefore, anyone looking to be correctly fit for the right pair of shoes for you I highly recommend you visit a RoadRunner Sports store. Here’s their link

http://www.roadrunnersports.com/?sc=CX12G059&cm_mmc=psearch-_-google-_-Brand%20Terms-_-rrs101-1000019252

Such great service and expertise from the people who work here. They really know what they’re talking about and take the time to personally test your feel to see how your arch falls and where the weight is distributed in your feet and then they video tape you running, just your feet, to figure out your stride and any difficulties there. So awesome. Great experience.

Remember everyone, you DO have to replace your running shoes even if they don’t look shot lol. Replacing your shoes every 500 miles is roughly where most experts recommend you look to purchase another pair of shoes. By then the shoe is shot, and you should really be investing in a good pair to save yourself from injuries.

Hope this insight was helpful! Any questions just let me know!

Be strong, believe in yourself, and be fit for life!

Until next time,

Alison

About Fit To Teach

I'm 24 years old from Rockland County, New York! I just graduated with my Master's in Special Education, but throughout my entire high school and college careers I've always been sports and fitness oriented! I love to work out and constantly challenge myself to be my personal best and I enjoy inspiring others to do the same! So that's my goal, to give you the down low on how to live the most fit life possible, and enlighten you on the best ways to do so! Motivation is key, believe in and be true to yourself, eat well, focus, and BREATHE! Living a fit life is a journey, not a destination! You CAN do it :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Get it right! Top to bottom…proper sneaker guide!

  1. travelsbyerinreeg says:

    Reblogged this on travelsbyerinreeg.

Leave a Reply

