Pro’s and Con’s of Weight Loss Supplements & Protein Drinks

Hola!

Alright ladies and gentlemen! Now for anyone who’s gotten into fitness recently, or for a long time, there’s always the temptation of using weight loss supplements and protein shakes to supplement your diet and get lean and mean more quickly. However, does this approach really work? I’ve got to admit, throughout my crazy “get lean” phases, I’ve used Slim Fast and taken diet pills in attempts to maintain and lose weight. The bottom line is, there’s no cheating fitness and there’s no magic pill to make you thin! So I’ll discuss the potential health risks and side effects I’ve experienced and what the FDA warns about in supplements currently on the market.

OK so, diet pills and detox solutions. DIET PILLS DONT WORK AND THEIR NOT MAGIC. Take Hydroxycut or TrimSpa and freakin have to run to the bathroom a million times a day. I’ve never taken them myself because there’s no secret, they have caffeine and other chemicals in them that accelerate your heart rate and make you feel jittery which combine with a low-calorie diet plan could definitely drop some pounds. However, check out my 2 links below to the dangers of using weight loss aid’s such as Hydroxycut. It’s your personal choice, but I highly advise to not use it. There are some other supplements such as Acai Berry extract and Green Tea extract which have been proven to burn fat and aid in weight loss, but I’m not convinced that’s the way to go. Personally, I’m currently trying Raspberry Ketone as recommended by Dr. OZ. Raspberry Ketone is a natural way to rev your metabolism and burn fat more effectively, however, I’ve found that it keeps me awake, which is nice in the morning, and does increase appetite because your burning “more” I haven’t noticed a difference otherwise. YOU HAVE TO RESEARCH! Look up potential supplements you want to take and truly weigh the advantages and disadvantages of putting those things into your body!

http://www.livestrong.com/article/395868-side-effects-of-hydroxycut-hardcore/

http://health.howstuffworks.com/wellness/diet-fitness/diets/hydroxycut2.htm

Now for protein shakes, another area which constantly chases my interest and has me curious to try. Protein shakes have potential to be a good meal REPLACEMENT and when used ONCE a day combined with a LOW CALORIE diet, could help you lose weight and create muscle. HOWEVER, the main reason I’ve never taken protein shakes is because I haven’t found one that I’m comfortable with ingesting. There’s protein and whey protein and soy protein and combinations of the two, body building mixes, and diet fixes. ALL BS TO ME. Especially being a female, I do not want to bulk up and look like a nasty chick, so after researching and reading up on the potential side effects from protein shakes I’ve decided to NOT add them to my diet. Here’s a list of potential side effects from protein shakes: dehydration, hair loss, osteoporosis, kidney stones, ketosis, food allergies, stomach issues, and the list goes on. I’m not saying that you cannot use protein shakes as a supplement to your diet, but I highly advise you do your research about what your consuming before you do so, AND I highly recommend you don’t take these shakes more than once a day! Just go to the links below, watch the videos, and try to understand that health and fitness take hard work, dedication, and logging some serious gym hours! Protein shakes and diet pills are not going to get you there, or if they do, it’s not a lifestyle choice you can maintain.

http://www.cbsnews.com/2100-500202_162-6537686.html

http://www.primehealthchannel.com/side-effects-of-protein-shakes.html

Here are some things I recommend if your absolutely serious about losing weight and getting lean.

Add protein to your diet, but through natural items such as eggs, dairy, and lean meats. Make the switch from beef to turkey. Start your day off with PROTEIN instead of CARBS, your insulin won’t shoot up and overproduce so early in the day and once you adjust to having eggs for breakfast you won’t get those cravings from breads. ADD MORE FIBER to your diet. FIBER helps keep you more satisfied LONGER! And you gotta HYDRATE! It’s proven that many times when we believe we’re hungry, we’re actually thirsty! And how about after a tough workout you have a glass of chocolate milk instead of protein additives! Chocolate milk, and milk in general, is SO good for you and helps replenish and provide good proteins after you’ve broken them down during a workout. It’s not rocket science, but CALORIES MATTER! And protein shakes definitely aren’t light on those! Here’s a link to a website that will calculate the amount of calories you need per day. Give it a try and try eating NATURAL things! I promise your body will thank you and you’ll start feeling better once you purge all the nasty toxins and chemicals from your body.

http://www.freedieting.com/tools/calorie_calculator.htm

Now as far as detoxes and juice cleanses, again I’m hesitant to even go near those. Do your research people, detoxes seem like they make people MISERABLE. I want to have a positive relationship with food, not one that makes me DETOX lol If you have a poor eating day, week, WHATEVER, EACH DAY IS A NEW DAY! You can start TODAY and be on your way to weight loss! Remember to get that cardio in there!

Here’s my usual daily meals which has helped me maintain and lose weight! 🙂

My daily breakfast is: 1/2 cup of Eggbeaters, 1-100 calorie English muffin, 3 slices of turkey bacon, 1/2 cup low fat cottage cheese, and 1 tbsp of all natural peanut butter (I put my egg on one side of my English muffin and my peanut butter on the other). If I’m not having eggs I’m having oatmeal with sliced apple a tbsp of peanut butter, honey, and cinnamon 🙂

Lunch varies but I’m either having a cold cut sandwich, which consists of a 100 calorie Arnold’s sandwich bread, and max 4 slices of deli meat, with a small amount of mayo and some lettuce. As a snack on the side I have a low fat cheese stick and either an apple, or a 100 calorie pack. If I’m not having a sandwich I do breakfast again sometime if I didn’t have my usual egg breakfast to star off my day.

Dinner is always lean at my house we’re either having some variation of turkey meat, turkey meatballs, turkey meatloaf, turkey burgers, or chicken, or fish. We do eat red meat, but not as often as most people. In addition there’s always salad avaliable and our sides are vegetables and couscous or something along those lines.

Now I love my desserts as much as the next person, but since I know this is my weakness and I don’t want to reverse all the hard work I’ve put in at the gym I usually have my dark chocolate covered acai berries or blueberries, a skinny cow ice cream, a yasso greek yogurt frozen pop, or a low calorie ice cream which I measure out a single serving size of. Sometimes you just need a taste so don’t let late night cravings destroy you. If I’m truly hungry in the evening I snack on almonds or some other type of un-salted nuts, or dried cranberries or other fruits, in small amounts of course. If I’m still hungry I try having 100-calorie bags of popcorn and WATER. And just so you all know that’s also my tactic to STOP eating, popcorn and water do NOT go so you end up full and then I try to just go to bed and forget about food lmao.

About Fit To Teach

I'm 24 years old from Rockland County, New York! I just graduated with my Master's in Special Education, but throughout my entire high school and college careers I've always been sports and fitness oriented! I love to work out and constantly challenge myself to be my personal best and I enjoy inspiring others to do the same! So that's my goal, to give you the down low on how to live the most fit life possible, and enlighten you on the best ways to do so! Motivation is key, believe in and be true to yourself, eat well, focus, and BREATHE! Living a fit life is a journey, not a destination! You CAN do it :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

