Strategies for navigating holiday feasting

Happy early Thanksgiving!!!

So around this time of year everyone begins mentioning potential holiday weight gain. Whether its friends, family, coworkers, or that blaring sign at the gym reminding you that you’ll be eating salads if you don’t workout (obnoxious right?!)

Well, have I got some strategies for you to prevent that holiday gain without sacrificing delicious food.

The key is portion control and viewing each holiday as a normal day of eating!

The past few years I’ve put my theory to the test and its worked out in my favor!
Here are the 2 steps I follow for holiday eating success:

Step 1: eat breakfast and lunch (depending in what time your meal is at) do not starve yourself! Or guess what? You WILL over eat! It’s not rocket science guys. Plus, taking the pressure off the idea that you MUST consume tremendous amounts off food bc it’s the holidays is ridiculous. Break you mindset, change your habits and you’ll have success!

Step 2: portion control. Going along with eating as though its a regular day and not saving a tremendous appetite for that pile of stuffing will help you have more self control. I’m not saying to totally restrict yourself, but be mindful of your portions and plate size. Don’t waste food, think of all of those less fortunate who cannot have a holiday meal! How I approach any kind of holiday spread is focusing on consuming the most vegetables and protein and then smaller servings of carbs. As for dessert, try to choose 1, yes 1, dessert that makes your holiday eating complete. If you choose more, take smaller portions of each. Therefore, your satisfied with your choices, feel as tho you aren’t restraining, AnD aren’t killing all the hard work you’ve out in at the gym.

There you have it! My guide to navigating holiday meals! Remember, this time of year is for enjoying family and friends and being thankful for what we have. Be satisfied with yourself and life! Avoid the holiday eating blunders and you’ll be on your way to a successful new year!

Good luck! Happy Thanksgiving 🙂

Until next time
A

20121120-213424.jpg

About Fit To Teach

I'm 24 years old from Rockland County, New York! I just graduated with my Master's in Special Education, but throughout my entire high school and college careers I've always been sports and fitness oriented! I love to work out and constantly challenge myself to be my personal best and I enjoy inspiring others to do the same! So that's my goal, to give you the down low on how to live the most fit life possible, and enlighten you on the best ways to do so! Motivation is key, believe in and be true to yourself, eat well, focus, and BREATHE! Living a fit life is a journey, not a destination! You CAN do it :)
This entry was posted in Fitness, Food, Health, Lifestyle and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

