Disappointed :(

Ok so I recently had blood work done and my results came back that my cholesterol was on the high side!

I’m disappointed because I pay really close attention to the food I eat and everything I consume, so I’m upset to hear that 😦

I usually have eggs & turkey bacon for breakfast, a salad with cold cuts for lunch, veggies, nuts, yogurt, or whole rain chips as a snack, and a meat with veggies for dinner.

I can’t remember at the moment if I have a family history of high cholesterol, but regardless i need to find a way to get it under control.

Any suggestions? Cutting back on meat? Help!

Sincerely

A concerned Alison

About Fit To Teach

I'm 24 years old from Rockland County, New York! I just graduated with my Master's in Special Education, but throughout my entire high school and college careers I've always been sports and fitness oriented! I love to work out and constantly challenge myself to be my personal best and I enjoy inspiring others to do the same! So that's my goal, to give you the down low on how to live the most fit life possible, and enlighten you on the best ways to do so! Motivation is key, believe in and be true to yourself, eat well, focus, and BREATHE! Living a fit life is a journey, not a destination! You CAN do it :)
This entry was posted in Health. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Disappointed :(

  1. jordeanad says:

    First you should have your doctor explain your LDL, HDL and triglyceride numbers. Personally my cholesterol was also a bit high 3 years ago (217) I was kind of freaking out but my doctor explained that my HDL (good) number was high so it made my total # over 200. She said my cholesterol was fine when she looked at all the numbers. I still worked at changing a few things and the next checkup I was down to 193. I go next week again and will she if they will check again and I’ll let you know.
    As far as changes for breakfast instead of 2 eggs, try 1 whole egg and 2 whites. For lunch I would skip any processed cold cuts. You’d be better off cooking up chicken breasts on the weekend and slicing them up for on a salad. Also wondering if you are eating much fiber?…… Whole wheat toast, brown rice, quinoa, lots of raw veggies, an apple, etc?

    • Yeah I think ill try to get in touch with my doctor again to see if she could tell me the different levels.

      Thanks for the food advice, your definitely right about the eggs and cold cuts, I tend to get stuck in routines so this will be the perfect time to get in a new one. As for fiber, I snack on carrots and have whole wheat toast a as a snack sometimes too. I like quinoa a lot and I try to eat seasonal fruits so I’ve avoided apples for the time being but have only really been munching on strawberries, blueberries, and grapes.

      Any other things that you added to your diet that you could recommend would be great!

      Thanks for your comment I appreciate your advice!

Leave a Reply

