What the HECK! Interesting Find!

OK…so in the beginning of my health and fitness journey, I was ALL about “diet” foods. Diet soda, crystal light, diet this and that, basically anything that had no calories but could satisfy my cravings. However, over time when truly looking at the nutritional content of these items I was appalled. They really ARENT good for you AT ALL! Which most of you definitely know by now, or you should! 

So I began my transition, weening myself off diet coke and coke zero (my weakness), and not consuming foods which were advertised as “diet” or “light”. 

Can I tell you, I felt a MILLION times better. No more insulin spikes or cravings, it was liberating! If you haven’t already tried to cut these items out I HIGHLY recommend it. There’s just something so satisfying about not having cravings for these foods, a new found freedom!

So here is where my WTF moment came today…I was browsing one of my favorite websites Muscle and Fitness Hers, when I came to find a section on nutrition which went through items that you should consume to lean out. One of their recommendations was to eat/drink DIET foods!

Now I know that the goal of that website isn’t necessarily upholding a holistic lifestyle and consuming foods that are not processed or contain aspartame… so maybe I shouldn’t be SO surprised….

But from what I’ve read and rumors I’ve heard about the adverse effects of consuming diet products, I have made my best effort for a full lifestyle change to avoid them! So I was kind of disappointed when one of the ways the website suggested to cut down was to consume diet products…How about cutting soda out of your lifestyle? Or consuming more water! Which is an issue for most people!

I don’t know, just found it pretty unfortunate that a well known website would promote use of diet products when we truly do not know the effects that diet products have on our bodies as of yet.

Sorry to have a ranty Sunday! Using today as a recovery and stretch day since I am sore from my Friday run/workout and Warrior Dash! 🙂 

Hope everyone is enjoying the day!

Alison

About Fit To Teach

I'm 24 years old from Rockland County, New York! I just graduated with my Master's in Special Education, but throughout my entire high school and college careers I've always been sports and fitness oriented! I love to work out and constantly challenge myself to be my personal best and I enjoy inspiring others to do the same! So that's my goal, to give you the down low on how to live the most fit life possible, and enlighten you on the best ways to do so! Motivation is key, believe in and be true to yourself, eat well, focus, and BREATHE! Living a fit life is a journey, not a destination! You CAN do it :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What the HECK! Interesting Find!

  1. Diet foods are terrible for you and I can’t believe that a fitness would actually promote them! Diet soda in my opinion is worse than regular soda. With diet soda, you are still going to crave the sugar that you aren’t getting. This will lead to drinking more crap that your body doesn’t need.
    I totally agree that encouraging people to drink more water is what that fitness site should be doing.
    Good for you for quitting soda. It’s a tough one to cut out.

  2. j! ayson says:

    It’s very disappointing to see the promotion of “diet” products on their site. But I guess it’s advertising dollars and revenue for them? BOO..

Leave a Reply

